The goal in designing the TeleLearning Professional Development School (TL*PDS) has been to investigate what is needed to engage educational professionals and make telelearning practices effective in educational settings. The PDS concept (Holmes Group, 1990) is a comprehensive one, and it is grounded in university-school partnership for practice teaching, professional development, and collaborative research. NCATE 's PDS Standards has been a key basic reference in designing and researching on computer-supported collaborative learning spaces dedicated to educators' professional development, namely teachers and workplace telecatalysts.

From 1995-2002, this R & D program has been made possible with the financial support of the federal research funding program, entitled Networks of Centres of Excellence (NCE) / Réseaux de centres d'excellence (RCE). The Pan-Canadian research team focusing on Educating Educators was originally located in four cities: Quebec City, Montreal, Toronto, and Vancouver. In each setting, network-enabled classrooms took hold of the pedagogical advantage of telelearning technologies by conducting face-to-face and on-line activities.

Theme leader: Thérèse Laferrière (1998-2002)
Co-theme leader: Nancy Sheehan (1995-1999)
Co-theme leader: Thérèse Laferrière (1995-1999)

Principal investigators (1998-2002)
Alain Breuleux, McGill University, Breuleux@Education.McGill.ca
Gaalen Erikson, University of British Columbia, gaalen@unixg.ubc.ca
Robert Bracewell, McGill University, ed18@musica.mcgill.ca
Frédéric Legault, Université du Québec à Montréal, flegault@fse.ulaval.ca
Mary Lamon, OISE/UT, mlamon@kf.oise.utoronto.ca
Marlene Scardamalia, OISE/UT, mscardamalia@oise.utoronto.ca
Jacques Viens, Université de Montréal, viens@ERE.UMontreal.CA
Richard Hotte, Télé-Université, Richard_Hotte@teluq.uquebec.ca
Robert Brien, Université Laval, rbrien@fse.ulaval.ca
Ron Owston, York University, ROwston@EDU.YorkU.CA
Tom Carey, University of Waterloo, tcarey@watserv1.uwaterloo.ca

Associate researchers (1998-2002)
Fernand Gervais, Université Laval, fernand.gervais@fse.ulaval.ca
Jacques Rhéaume, Université Laval, jrheaume@fse.ulaval.ca

Researchers are still conducting research on ICT and learning, and are funded through new research programs such as
Initiative for the New Economy (INE), SSHRC, Canada
INE Outreach
Project leader: Thérèse Laferrière, tlaf@fse.ulaval.ca
Co-Applicants
Marlene Scardamalia, OISE/UT, mscardamalia@oise.utoronto.ca
Mary Lamon, OISE/UT, mlamon@kf.oise.utoronto.ca
Jan van Aalst, Simon Fraser University, vanaalst@sfu.ca
INE Collaborative
Project leader: Marlene Scardamalia, OISE/UT, mscardamalia@oise.utoronto.ca
Co-applicant
Thérèse Laferrière, tlaf@fse.ulaval.ca
SSHRC Regular Program
Thérèse Laferrière, project leader
Co-applicants:
Milton Campos, University of Montreal, milton.campos@UMontreal.CA
Elizabeth Murphy, Memorial University, emurphy@mun.ca
SchoolNet Canada and Canadian Education Association, Satellite Multimedia Trials for Schools Evaluation
Thérèse Laferrière, project leader
Co-researchers:
Elizabeth Murphy, Memorial University, emurphy@mun.ca
Ron Owston, York University, ROwston@EDU.YorkU.CA & Herb Wideman, York University
Canarie, EduSource Project, Canada
Tom Carey, Waterloo U, tcarey@watserv1.uwaterloo.ca
Ministry of Education and CEFRIO, L'école éloignée en réseau, Quebec
Co-researchers
Thérèse Laferrière, tlaf@fse.ulaval.ca
Alain Breuleux, McGill University, Breuleux@Education.McGill.ca

 

Partners

Schools in Quebec, Ontario, and British Columbia
SchoolNet Canada
CEFRIO, Quebec
Canadian Education Association

 

June 2003